So much of ‘no work’…

All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.

We all know this proverb and know what it really means. I don’t intend to tell you about this and become a school teacher. I am going to tell you that “All play and No work makes Jack a bull *hit”.

Offlate, due to various reasons like US economy slow-down, crisis in banking and financial sectors, etc. our projects are being closed and we are left with absolutely no work. I am in particular the most gifted  and affected person in the lot. Gifted because I don’t have much work and am getting paid for doing nothing. Affected because there is hardly anything to do and will have a tough time during my appraisal reviews.. Eventhough I wasn’t having much to do, I had to come to office to save my leaves for future use. Coming to office and doing nothing makes anyone a dumb…

What do I do then? – Literally nothing. I come into office and immediately openup browser to get to internet. Read news, watch share market, politics, blogs, do a little bit of unnecessary reading, talk to friends, talk to enemies, talk to anonymous ppl and the like… I get just one or two mails a day and thats it. Being like this for several weeks now, I am not sure if I will be able to do any work once I get allocated to a project. 🙂

Why this? – I am not sure why this had happened… Managers really don’t want any good people to move out from their area, but they don’t care about keeping these people motivated. Clients are ready to give some billing without any work and good people become a scape goat. I know of a person who is being retained just because there is billing. He is a smart and talented individual who is getting an excellent project outside, but is not being released by his current manager. He is given a task which doesn’t require any expertise and the manager is not even sure whether he will be able to give this chap a challenging work in future. But hez been retained… What the hell is this!!!!

What next? – Lots actually. We need to persuade a highly illogical manager and somehow make him take a decision to move us out. Then come the higher management. They want a release plan from all the managers (which ofcourse no one will stick to) and if our names are not there planned for this month, we need to add it to the next month’s plan and wait till that time and get released.

Hmm.. long process!!! –  What do you think will happen once someone gets released… BENCH… Who knows how long will it take for him to get to a project…. And even if we get to a project, who know whether there is work or not….

Sick and tired of the adhoc world we (IT professionals) are currently in. I know I will one day become a manager and then do the same thing that these managers do + I will try my level best to keep my team motivated…

Let me go back for my coffee. Its break time… 🙂 Thats the only thing I do now-a-days.

About saravanah

Saravanan is a happy and carefree person, who doesn't have any kind of hobbies except for watching TV and sleeping. Most of his time is spend in office or commuting to office. At his home, he simply chooses to sleep. He is interested in cooking, reading somethings, chatting with friends, sudoku, etc. but hardly does any of these :) He has completed few years of his service in IT industry, which is very evident from his bald, fat and old look. Never the less, he is young at heart and physically very tired. He just got married and offlate he is taking various steps to keep his wife, parents & in-laws happy. Just like any other married man, he is confused and knows-not how to act/react to the situations. He enjoys the love and company of his wife and the affection that his parents are showering on him.
This entry was posted in Fun, Work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So much of ‘no work’…

  1. C.B says:

    Good one !!!
    Tell me who is the manager ?

    Saravanan
    You know.. everyone who claims to be a manager are alike…

Leave a Reply

