BIG Achievement

Am going to talk about one of the recent achievements, which is to be recorded in “Guinness book of World Records”. An achievement that is special in various aspects. It stands as an example of an individual’s dedication, hard work, and attitude and above all team work and team support.

A sleepless night means a catastrophic next day for me. I just can’t be awake for half the night, leave alone the entire night. As soon as my sleep clock strikes, I will start sleeping and sometimes even before it strikes. Any physical problem in the world will mostly be associated with “sleep”. Dark circles, hair fall, blood pressure, obesity and any other disease will have a remote cause “improper sleep”. Sound sleep is very essential for human beings well being. Here, one guy has achieved something by not sleeping for 168 continuous hours.

Shocking!!!

Is it possible at all? Is it not very difficult? I had these questions and thought of asking the mass about their sleep routines. Presumably, they might have the following responses

College student: I don’t think it is possible for 168hrs. But I can stay awake for one whole night, provided I have a pack of cigar and “my favorite colored” film screened in my computer.

Lower middle class father of aforementioned student: I myself don’t get a sound sleep. I sleep for 2-3hrs a night; otherwise I will not be able to do my job properly the next day. My son is doing his college and once he completes, he will probably get an IT job, after which, I can take good rest.

Owner of “Lakshmi Provisional Stores” (otherwise fondly called as “natar kadai”): I open my shop at 8am and close it by 11pm. Once I reach home, I will have to think of my inventory management and other transactions. I hardly get a sound sleep.

Person @ coimbedu supermarket shop: Supplies will reach here at midnight and I will be busy unloading it in godown. The sales start early in the morning and spans well past afternoon. I take a nap in the evening and have to start cleaning the godown for the next supplies. It’s a routine every day.

Heavy vehicle driver (they often drive at night): We will have to drive over night. Our sleep depends on our time targets; some will have a stringent deadline and some doesn’t. But regardless, sleep is very essential for us, otherwise there will be more accidents.

Just Married: One can manage to stay awake for a max of two nights. Beyond that it’s very tiring and not sure if it is possible.

A happening film actress: Sometimes we will have many projects to work on and we will stay awake for probably 2-3days with little on-the-sets break time naps.

Age old politician holding a prominent position: We have lots of issues and people to tackle. It becomes increasingly difficult to handle everything within 24hrs time. Our best sleeps are when we are not in power because we will be the source (or the problem) and not destination.

Lethargic government employee: I don’t think I can be awake even at day time. I sleep at least 6hrs during the day to keep myself fit so that I can perform my duties better.

School student (12th): I sleep for 5-6hrs a day and I think that is essential. It’s only during the exams I can push myself a little further for my late night and early morning studies.

Middle class mother of aforementioned student: I sleep when my kid sleeps but I keep gazing at the clock once in a while to keep track of the time; I had to awake my kid in the morning. I don’t get a sound sleep at night and I know it’s just for this year.

From these mixed responses, I think that there are people who sleep very less. Given a challenge and some fancy monetary benefits, they seem to be capable of pushing themselves to achieve 168 continuous sleepless hours or even more.

Jokes apart, it is surely not an easy task to be awake and be conscious for a continuous 168hrs and on top of it “Radio Jockeying“. Kudos to RJ BIG Dheena of “BIG 92.7 FM” for such an achievement. He sure has a character in him that gave this temperament.

What did he do? Italian RJ Stefano Venneri made it to the Guinness Book of world records by continuously RJ-ing for 135hrs. RJ Dheena of BIG FM broke this record and set a new record of 168hrs. Isn’t that a great effort? Doesn’t he require a huge round of applause for this herculean task? Yes, he does and here he gets it. Clap… clap… clap… with all my two (of course) hands sounding like a thunder from the mid-night sky caused because of the impossible Bay of Bengal hurricane named “Saravanan”

I, for once, listened to the radio for at least 3hours a day just because I wanted to recognize this huge effort. My recognition doesn’t mean anything to Dheena who had earned millions of fans in this endeavor. But, I felt something great about it and I thought whenever I get time, I should really listen to him as a tribute to his endeavor. Sure I spent those few hours for him, sometimes even making my wife listen to it. This is max that I could do although I thought of calling him but didn’t.

Great achievement, Dheena; I wish you to achieve more and more and above all have a peaceful and rewarding life. Henceforth sleep well and take good care of yourself.

About saravanah

Saravanan is a happy and carefree person, who doesn't have any kind of hobbies except for watching TV and sleeping. Most of his time is spend in office or commuting to office. At his home, he simply chooses to sleep. He is interested in cooking, reading somethings, chatting with friends, sudoku, etc. but hardly does any of these :) He has completed few years of his service in IT industry, which is very evident from his bald, fat and old look. Never the less, he is young at heart and physically very tired. He just got married and offlate he is taking various steps to keep his wife, parents & in-laws happy. Just like any other married man, he is confused and knows-not how to act/react to the situations. He enjoys the love and company of his wife and the affection that his parents are showering on him.
This entry was posted in Achievement, Social and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BIG Achievement

  1. C.B says:

    Bay of Bengal hurricane (“Saravanan” ) – I Agree that we need to appreciate Dheena for his great achievement….

    “Early to bed and early to rise, makes a man healthy, wealthy and wise”

Leave a Reply

