Alone in San Antonio

It has been a while since I blogged. Several years have gone by. My laptop’s Keyboard has missing ‘B’ and malfunctioning ‘A’ & ‘N’. Credit goes to my 2yr old daughter, who has been playing games with this laptop (unbelievable isn’t it?) after we moved to San Antonio for work. So, if you happen to see some words missing one of these letters, please add them as you read along.

I got married in 2008 and have a daughter. As I said, we moved to this place sometime in May and since then, I have been really busy with work. My wife’s brief vacation got over, so she went back to India and yeah, took my daughter along with her. As I always experienced, “Work will be more when I want it less and less when I want it more”. So, a week after my wife & daughter went back to India, I have got less work (as-in 12hrs or less per day). Ooops! if my boss happens to read it, you can imagine what will happen!!! Let me hope that they don’t get time to read it.

Now that I am kind of relaxed, I want to spend more time with family. Unfortunately they are in an exactly opposite time-zone. I am awake when they are sleeping & vice versa. I can’t call them whenever I wanted to talk. This is kind of second time in the last 8years (thats from the time I first met my wife) I am not talking to Her. The first time it happened was when I came to San Antonio on my previous trip. She was not in US for the first 2 months and I couldn’t talk to her because of the same time-zone issue. Needless to say, after she came to US, Denver… we never stopped talking.

In fact we ‘stress tested’ the T-Mobile connectivity. How many of you know, that T-Mobile automatically drops the call after exactly 4Hrs, 59mins, 59seconds (for the records this was in 2006 – 2007 timeframe). We know it because we faced this issue no less than a dozen time. Thank you T-Mobile for the ‘ T-Mobile to T-Mobile free ‘ plan. It really helped us to get to know each other very well, go to the extend of wedding and be married for ever. I hope the connectivity is better now and your service to all ‘budding lovers’ continue for ever.

This weekend is by far the most boring weekend in my entire life. I can’t believe I said that even after watching 5 movies… But surely it is so boring. I did everthing possible to keep myself busy but the clock wasn’t ticking as fast as I wanted it to. Here I am, the clock is showing just about 9:30pm and having a call at 11:00pm – still to kill one and half hour.

Not having any hobby is one of the worst reasons for this situation of mine. I was a happy person and I never really had time to do anything. I never really had time for a hobby. I never listened to much music; never watched much TV; never went for many movies. How did I spend my time. All I can recollect was, I kept talking to people and mostly to my dear wife. And after my daugther was born, she kind of kept us busy by doing things that always made us listen to or watch her. Never needed any other pass-time. This may be why I haven’t blogged in a while!

What did I do today? Woke up late, spoke to my family in India. Cooked refried beans and fried potatos for breakfast. Homemade Taco was great! I can say that confidentally because no one happened to taste it 🙂 I love mexican food. I  am unable to state a real reason why I started liking Mexican food. I think it may be because it is the most reliable cusine here in the south texas. There are several mexican restaurants and I can always find atleast one vegetarian item in the menu. For those of you who don’t know, I am a converted Vegetarian. I find mexican as one of the best options.

Anyways, after cooking tacos for breakfast, I watched a movie. After the movie, I found that the outside climate was good. Its rare to see any rain in San Antonio. The nice cool breeze after few hours of rain was heavenly. Got on to my car,  lowered the windows, drove at around 30mph with music in high volume. What a great feeling/experience!!! I haven’t been like this in a while. It rains in chennai but ‘after rain cool breeze’ was a rarity because of all the traffic and pollution. Enjoyed the climate today… The drive lead me to a movie hall to watch my 4th movie for the weekend. Drove back to public library to return some DVDs and pick up few. Came back home for a nice hot coffee and chocolate chip cookie. Ofcourse watching another movie at the same time.

The night time just arrived and sun settled down behind the great mountains. Started to recollect the weekend and this blog is the output.

Have to go to making dinner now. I tried reviewing the blog ones. Spare me if there are any missing letters… But I totally stand accounted for killing english and in the court room, I would blame it on my english teacher back in high school, who always failed me.

About saravanah

Saravanan is a happy and carefree person, who doesn't have any kind of hobbies except for watching TV and sleeping. Most of his time is spend in office or commuting to office. At his home, he simply chooses to sleep. He is interested in cooking, reading somethings, chatting with friends, sudoku, etc. but hardly does any of these :) He has completed few years of his service in IT industry, which is very evident from his bald, fat and old look. Never the less, he is young at heart and physically very tired. He just got married and offlate he is taking various steps to keep his wife, parents & in-laws happy. Just like any other married man, he is confused and knows-not how to act/react to the situations. He enjoys the love and company of his wife and the affection that his parents are showering on him.
This entry was posted in Experience, Food, Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Alone in San Antonio

  1. Pingback: Its another day – B’day « Nothing Official

Leave a Reply

